an update.

It’s hard to try and sum up everything I learned and experienced during my college years. In May, I graduated from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro with a degree in Dance and a minor in Computer Science. The past four years have been incredible, and I’m thankful for the experience I had at UNCG. I made life-long friends, had many opportunities to perform beautiful choreography, and, of course, learned a few things. The past two years I’ve been attending Church of the Redeemer, where I found a church family that welcomed me, drew me into community, and pointed me towards Christ. I was also able to spend a semester studying abroad in Malta – a semester that was challenging but amazing as I learned to navigate a new country on my own. Also, as many of you know, I spent July 2013 in Kenya with Adventures in Missions. My trip to Kenya was an experience I’ll never forget as I learned to trust God in new ways, developed deep relationships with my team, and was blessed by the love of the people we met there. My time at UNCG challenged and strengthened my faith in ways I didn’t expect. It’s been a journey of learning how to trust, how to surrender, and how to daily walk with Him.

This year, I’m taking part in the Greensboro Fellows Program. The Fellows Program is affiliated with Church of the Redeemer and seeks to develop young adults to live in a Christ-centered manner in every aspect of their lives. The program integrates professional experience, leadership development at the Center for Creative Leadership, discipleship, volunteer work, seminary classes, networking with local business owner and executives, intentional fellowship, and a year-end trip to visit our sister church in Rwanda, Africa. The Greensboro Fellows website (http://www.greensborofellows.com/) has more information about the program.

There are six Fellows this year – Sean, Graham, Kyle, Stacey, Sarah, and myself – and we’ve become a family, along with the program directors, Tripp and Sarah. They have already blessed me so much, from sing-alongs in the car to faith conversations around the dinner table. I’m interning at C12, a company of Christian business owners and CEOs that seeks to develop businesses from a Biblical perspective. This year, we’re developing rhythms of prayer, worship, service, and fellowship that will carry us through the rest of our life. I love the rhythms we’ve been practicing, especially morning prayer on Mondays. It’s a gift to start each week together in prayer and in Scripture.

The Fellows Program is an adventure that I can’t take alone. In Greensboro, there’s an entire network of people that are giving of their time and talents to help us – host families, internship providers, mentors, teachers, people who feed us and pray for us and bless us. I’m grateful for this cloud of witnesses that makes this program possible and I could not make it through this year without the prayer and support of God’s people. Would you partner with me in prayer and financial support this year? The Fellows program costs $6,500, and I have already paid the first half of my tuition. This means I need another $3,100 to be fully paid for the year. If you can support me financially, donations are tax deductible and can be made on the website or by check. Checks can be made out to:

Greensboro Fellows
P.O. Box 4764
Greensboro, NC 27404
       Please put my name in the memo line.

This year is a blessing but also a challenge, and I would be thankful for your prayers for myself and the other Fellows. I’m very humbled and grateful for this opportunity to take this year to learn and grow, and I could not be more excited about what God is going to do in and through our lives this year. We’ll be sending out a regular newsletter, and I’d love to keep you updated on what’s happening in the Fellows Program. If you’d like to be on the list, please let me know. I’m grateful for your love, your support, and your prayers, and for letting me share this journey with you.

 

One thought on “an update.

Leave a Reply

