[october 2013]

The past months seem to have gone by in a blur. October did not. I suspect this has something to do with 31 days, aka the brilliant masochist impulse decision to blog every single day for a month. Now, for the record, let me just state: I am glad I am doing 31 days. I have no regrets. But, also, MUURGGGHHH.

And on that note…let’s talk about what I loved in October.

reading [book-wise]

  • Allegiant, Veronica Roth. So I’m a huge fan of the Divergent series and when the final book of the trilogy came out, obviously I immediately bought it on Kindle and ignored my responsibilities for two days while I read it. And, wow. There were twists that I did NOT see coming, but I love it. I think it’s a perfect conclusion to the story, and Roth made some gusty choices, and I respect any author who does that. (Also, I immediately decided to re-read the whole trilogy, so I read Divergent this month, too. Also in two days.)
  • The Elite, Kiera Cass. I mentioned last month that I enjoyed The Selection and hoped that she was going a little deeper with the second book and was not disappointed. I read The Elite in a day. A DAY. It’s been forever since that happened. I need the third book now, pleaseandthankyou.
  • The Power of Six and The Rise of Nine, Pittacus Lore. Still working my way through the Lorien Legacies series, and still enjoying it very much.
  • The Gifts of Imperfection, Brene Brown. It took me a few months to get all the way through this, but it’s amazing. Such a wise book filled with truth. I want to live wholehearted.
  • in progress: Emma (Jane Austen), Grace for the Good Girl and A Million Little Ways (Emily Freeman), The Book Thief (Marcus Zusak), 19 Varieties of Gazelle (poetry by Naomi Shihab Nye). Yes. I read multiple books at once. It’s a problem.
  • (also I’m trying to get myself to actually use Goodreads sooo you can find me here!)

reading [blog-wise]

listening

my october jams are right here.

mostly, though: Sara Bareilles. all the Sara Bareilles. I’m obsessed with The Blessed Unrest, obviously, and her live album is great.

watching

  • finally caught up on Elementary and this has easily become one of my favorite shows. Also, I want to steal all of Joan Watson’s adorable booties.
  • Dance Academy ended. For good. It was good. I cried.
  • Parks and Rec is back!
  • Once Upon A Time. just. yes.
  • I’m totally hooked on The Voice. Oops. It’s great, and I’m completely and absolutely NOT gifted with the ability to sing, so I’m basically constantly in awe of anyone who can.
  • EMMA APPROVED. IS A THING. If anyone watched the Lizzie Bennet Diaries, you probably already know about Emma Approved. If you don’t, it’s fantastic. The cast is fantastic, I both adore and want to strangle Emma (as it should be), and Knightley is cute. No shame. I was hesitant at first, and there’s some weirdness going on with who the audience is, but it’s mostly won me over.
  • and when it comes to classic-novels-turned-vlogs, Adventures of Jane Eyre is just too good.

eating

  • I improvised some pumpkin chai cookies. Because, you know, all the pumpkin.
  • Also, I took Joy the Baker’s chocolate cookie recipe and fiddled to make some chocolate-almond-coconut cookies that were DELISH. HELLO. I also adapted this into some ginger cardamom shortbread cookies and they were good, but no spectacular. I’m pretty sure shortbread can smell fear.
  • Apple almond cinnamon scones, based on a simple sour cream scone recipe. Yum. Yum. Yum. (Can you tell we have a thing for baked goods?)
  • annd when it comes to real food….this green chile chicken & lime soup is fantastic.

loving

  • the few perfectly-fall days we’ve had. crisp air, blue skies, crunchy leaves. i’m in love.
  • me + my hammock + the park have been having a lot of quality time.
  • 31 days. yes, yes, we were about twelve days in when I started wanting to pull my hair out but it’s been a lot of fun and such a good experience to challenge myself to write every day. although, it basically turned into 31 days of poetry pretty soon on. and a little fiction. apparently that’s something I do now.
  • sweet harvest pumpkin tea. get on it.
  • wearing sweatpants. getting cozy.
  • the adventure that is growing out a buzz cut. my hair has a mind of it’s own, I swear, so this has been interesting. but fun.

As usual, I’m linking up with Leigh Kramer to share what I’ve been into in October. what’s on your love list for this month?

 

8 thoughts on “[october 2013]

  1. Hi there! Great minds – I’m reading A Million Little Ways right now, too! 🙂 Also a big Parks and Rec fan – can’t get enough! And how did I not know about Emma Approved?! I’m going to go check it out right now 🙂 I love reading through all of the What I’m Into link ups – and really enjoyed yours! Hope you have a great month!

  2. Oh goodness, I’m practically drooling from reading about all those cookies! Having seen both you and Leigh raving about the Divergent series now, I’m going to have to look into it…

Leave a Reply

