[july 2013]

July was…a month.

I left home July 1 and returned on the 31st. In between, I flew to Kenya, ate a lot of chapati, walked a lot of dusty roads, held the hands of a lot of children, met some wonderful people, and learned a lot. Oh, and shaved my head. #kenyolo.

Africa was beautiful and hard and heartbreaking and life-changing and I still haven’t wrapped my head around this month. I’ve got a few blogs that I wrote over the past month to post and a lot of stuff to process, so expect way too many posts in the future that include the sentence “when I was in Kenya…”

But for now, let’s talk about what I was into this month.

reading (book-wise)

  • The Bean Trees, Barbara Kingsolver. I’m trying to work my way through her books and loved The Bean Trees.
  • The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, Girls in Pants, Forever in Blue, and The Sisterhood Everlasting, aka the entire Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series by Ann Brashares, because I’m continuing my trend of reading at twenty-one all of the books that I didn’t read in high school.
  • The Diviners, Libba Bray. I’m not a stranger to supernatural/ghost murder YA fiction (Maureen Johnson, anyone?) but this book actually did creep me out, in an enjoyable way.
  • It’s Kind of a Funny Story, Ned Vizzini. I think this a movie, too? I’ll have to watch it. This was a fast and really interesting read about a 15-year-old with depression and his five-day stay in the psychiatric ward. It’s kind of based on a true story, as the author did actually spend time in a mental health ward.
  • Love and Other Perishable Items, Laura Buzo. I’m mostly meh on this book. It was enjoyable, it was something to read, but I didn’t love it.
  • Eat, Pray, Love, Elizabeth Gilbert. Finally got around to reading this and loved it. It made me want to run off to India and spend four months doing yoga, and then I realized that that might actually drive me crazy. Still: loved it.
  • The Help, Kathryn Stockett. I know everyone read this like two years ago, but hey, I’m always a little behind. Fantastic.
  • A Year of Biblical Womanhood, Rachel Held Evans. Again, everyone read this a year ago and raved about it. I have a blog about this that I’ll be posting soon, but basically: loved it. Adored it. If you haven’t read it yet, read it. Right now. Go buy it and then read it and then make everyone you know read it.

I’ve also begun Mere Christianity (C.S. Lewis), Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte), and Blue like Jazz (Donald Miller).

reading (blog-wise)

…nope. I have nothing. When you spend a month with an iPod touch as your only internet device, and no reliable internet…you’re behind on your blogs. I’m terrified of opening my reader. (I just did. 235 unread blogs. Eep.)

listening

again, nothing new. John Mark McMillan saw a lot of play on my iPod this month, as did Bastille’s Pompeii.

watching

Movies! Lots of movies! Lots of in-flight movies!

  • Les Miserables, finally. So. good.
  • Silver Linings Playbook. Again, finally. Again, so good.
  • Bridesmaids
  • Wreck-it Ralph
  • The Croods
  • Anna Karenina. Loved the stage setting used for this. Loved it.
  • Admission (most of it…and then the entertainment system cut out right before I found out if the kid got into Princeton. Curse you, Delta.)
  • The Lion King, because Africa.
  • Date Night
  • Get Smart
  • Marley and Me, the first half. I need to finish it at some point.
  • Modern Family, bits and pieces of seasons 1-4, because one of my teamies was watching it.

loving

  • my fantastic o-flow fam. missing them, a lot.
  • abusing eshet chayil. and by abusing, I mean using at every possible opportunity, including setting up a tent in the pouring rain with my teammate. I’m gonna eshet chayil myself for that one.
  • riding a motorbike down african roads
  • the real shower I took last night and finally feeling clean for the first time in a month
  • kenyan tea
  • foggy mornings at our home in kenya
  • all of the beautiful children I held, hugged, and high-fived
  • not having hair. life is approximately 500 times easier. dear everyone, get rid of your hair.
  • detaching from my online life for a month. finding freedom in not being connected 24/7.
  • chapati. have I mentioned that I love chapati? it’s delicious. and unhealthy. let’s not think about that.
  • quality time and good conversation with my teammates
  • the wonderful welcome we received from everyone in kenya
  • the bible. I read all of the epistles this month and am trying to get more into the old testament, too.

 

kenya

As usual, linking up with HopefulLeigh to share my love list for this month. now, tell me – what did you love?

4 thoughts on “[july 2013]

  1. I have such good memories of The Help, both the movie and the book. I’m glad you liked it!

    I also really enjoyed Joe Wright’s artistry in Anna Karenina. And I can’t even explain how much I love Modern Family. Can’t wait for it to come back next month.

    As for getting rid of hair…you’re making me miss my pixie cut! It sounds like July was an exciting month for you. Looking forward to reading about Africa.

  2. oh man. all. those. books. in particular: I just read Sisterhood Everlasting, and cried all the way through. also, Kingsolver is a longtime favorite. Especially Bean Trees and Pigs in Heaven, because of my Southwestern roots.

  3. I can’t believe you didn’t include a picture of your shaved head! Lovely glimpses of your time in Kenya. I love chapati, too!

    Thanks for linking up with What I’m Into!

Leave a Reply

