[june 2013]

Goodness. Is it July already?

Do I comment on how fast the month has gone by every time I start one of these posts?

Maybe. Don’t judge.

It’s been a long month. A fast one, but a long one. I’m home now. For a few more days, at least.

reading (books)

  • Coraline, Neil Gaiman. I read this delightful short story in a few hours during my travel day. It’s a quick read, but a good one.
  • Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Ann Brashares. Because it’s been a while, and it’s a summer book.
  • The Lost Hero, Rick Riordan. This is sort of a tie-in series to the Percy Jackson books, and I’m hooked, maybe enjoyed it more than the Percy Jackson ones. Can’t wait to read the rest.
  • How to Eat a Cupcake, Meg Donohue. I couldn’t put this down – it’s fun, it’s fast, it’s touching. Also, it made me want cupcakes.
  • Before I Fall, Lauren Oliver. I picked this up because I loved her Delirium series, and while I enjoyed it, I didn’t think it was as good. I also read Hana, which is a short story tie-in to the Delirium series.
  • Prodigal Summer, Barbara Kingsolver. I loved Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, and read Prodigal Summer on the recommendation of a friend. And fell in love. Kingsolver’s language reminds me that writing is an art, and how beautiful it is. I wanted to wrap myself up in these words and just lay there.
  • I am Number Four, Pittacus Lore. Since we all know I have a thing for fantasy/sci-fi YA, and I could not. put. this. down.
  • The Casual Vacancy, J.K. Rowling. I’m maybe 8% done with this, and it just hasn’t grabbed me yet. Not sure if I’m going to finish it, honestly.
  • The Red Pyramid, Rick Riordan. Another one of those fantasy/sci-fi YA books, this time with Egyptian gods instead of Greek/Roman.

reading (blogs)

Confession: my blog reader is full, overflowingly full, and I am so behind on my reading. I’ll catch up, someday.

  • “Has anyone ever told you that you deserve happiness?”  This beautiful reminder from Hannah Brencher.
  • Erin Salmon (congratulations, by the way, on the name change!) telling me that having a quiet and gentle spirit, contrary to what I tend to think, means being bold, confident, and strong.
  • “What if we didn’t need to be counted?” Words to think on from Antonia Terrazas.
  • As my trip to Africa rapidly approaches, I’ve been filled with worry and doubt . This post from Addie Zierman about short-term missions was exactly what I needed.

listening

  • really, it’s just been this playlist, by Antonia, over and over. and over.
  • and Wagon Wheel. the Old Crow Medicine Show version, obviously otherwise known as the anthem of Team Ratchet, aka the Kitchen Crew of 103E, aka my study abroad family.

watching

  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey on my plane ride home. I’d seen it in theater and decided to give it a second watch, because I’d been wanting to and what else is there to do on a plane for 8 hours? I enjoyed it as much as I did the first time, and I’m excited for the second one.
  • Skyfall, also on the plane ride. I haven’t seen a bunch of Bond movies, and I don’t think I’ve seen the other Daniel Craig ones, but it was fantastic.
  • a couple episodes of SYTYCD, but I don’t think I’ll really be able to keep up with this season.
  • catching up on Psych, which is still one of my favorites. Let’s talk about how this season made me cry.
  • still watching an episode of Arrested Development here and there.

loving

  • making a feast in our tiny flat kitchen to celebrate the 150th anniversary of West Virginia’s independence. Anything for a party, y’all.
  • enjoying the beauty of Malta. eating breakfast with my feet in the pool outside my door. a picnic on the beach in the evening. seeing the Azure Window with my brother.
  • being home, for all of week. I have a new appreciation for sharp knives and a spacious shower and quiet nights and air conditioning and not having to carry my groceries home. I do miss that pool, though.
  • kit-kat chunky. why do we not have a million flavors of kit-kat in the u.s.?
  • being back at camp, if only for a few days. my summer job is the best ever, guys. it’s family.

 

wading near the Azure Window, in Gozo.
wading near the Azure Window, in Gozo. That’s me in the yellow.

 

Linking up with Leigh Kramer for this month’s What I’m Into! Now tell me – was your June impossibly fast, too? What did you love?

9 thoughts on “[june 2013]

  1. Yes – my June flew by! I couldn’t get into the Casual Vacancy, either. I love love loved Harry Potter, but this one was just… meh. I’m excited to listen to your playlist, I’ve been lacking in the music department lately!

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who couldn’t get into The Casual Vacancy! I’m such a Harry Potter fan but this story just didn’t draw me in. And definitely check out the playlist – Antonia posted it on her May roundup and it’s pretty much the only thing I’ve been listening to this month.

  2. I also didn’t finish The Casual Vacancy. I thought I might try again, but then my sister read the whole thing. When she was done, I asked her what it was about, and when she couldn’t answer, I decided I wouldn’t try again Disappointing because I’ve all of Harry Potter multiple times.

  3. Listened to the playlist today…I have a feeling it’s going to be a favorite on Spotify.

    “How to Eat a Cupcake”…what an adorable title. I’ll have to look that one up!

  4. I am a HUGE Kingsolver fan, and read Prodigal Summer earlier this year (along with a couple others) – but I have yet to read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, though it’s next on my list.

  5. Have you read The Poisonwood Bible by Kingsolver? It’s my favorite. The subject matter is very different from Prodigal Summer. The characters made me SO mad, but I couldn’t put it down.

    That playlist makes me think I should figure out exactly how Spotify works and give it a try!

  6. I read The Casual Vacancy last year and actually liked it, although I can really understand why many people didn’t. I never read or watched Harry Potter. I thought TCV was very poignant, a heartbreaking look at the brokenness hiding behind many doors. But it also felt very English, so I did wonder if other cultures would be able to relate…
    I do LOVE Kingsolver too 🙂

  7. I hated how Before I Fall ended. I feel that way about most of Oliver’s books but I almost threw Before I Fall across the room, I was so angry. I’ve heard very mixed reviews about Casual Vacancy so I haven’t gotten around to picking it up yet. Hope you’ll keep watching SYTYCD! This season might be the best yet. I fell behind on Psych so I’ll have to get caught up soon. Curious what about the season made you cry!

Leave a Reply

