[may 2013]

goodness. is it that time again?

May has flown by and I can’t believe we’re hitting June already. where. did. the. time. go.

this month, WordPress informed me of the one-year anniversary of this little blog. I can’t believe it’s been a year since I carved out a space on the blogosphere and started pouring my heart out into it. it’s been quite a journey, with lots of lessons and tears and new internet friends. A heartfelt thank-you to those of you who take the time to read my words. In honor of this first birthday, I’m gonna drop a link to my most-viewed post right here. in case you missed it.

reading (on kindle)

  • I picked up Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle after it appeared on a few April What I’m Into posts, and loved it. It’s a fascinating and informative read on the food industry in America. If you’re interested in where your food comes from – and you should be – give it a read.
  • Lauren Oliver’s Delirium series (Delirium, Pandemonium, Requiem). Guys, I read these books in about two days each. So good. They fall into that strong-heroine-screwed-up-utopian-society-teen-romance category that I’m a sucker for (see: The Hunger Games; Divergent). This is a perfect summer beach read series. You won’t want to put them down.
  • Also finished the Percy Jackson series and am almost done with Inheritance, the last book in the Inheritance cycle. Basically: lots of YA fantasy.

reading (online)

(I wrote this whole section, complete with blurbs about why I liked all these blogs, and then WordPress didn’t save it. And I’m lazy. So: just read them all.)

listening

  • Flaws, by Bastille. on repeat. for hours. no joke.
  • also: Brave, from Sara Bareilles. I have such a girl crush on Sara Bareilles and this song is just so good. and true. be brave, friends.
  • Emeli Sandé’s cover of Crazy in Love for the Great Gatsby soundtrack. can. we. just. what.
  • anything Spotify plays on a radio station based on Ben Howard or the Lumineers or Mumford and Sons. good stuff.

watching

  • gave Hannibal a try, and while it’s brilliant and well-done, not sure I can handle it. It’s a little gory, plus there’s the whole cannibalism thing.
  • I am, however, newly addicted to Elementary. I’m also a huge Sherlock fan, but this is so different that they’re not competing in my head. Love it.
  • working my way (slowly) through Season 2 of Arrested Development. I’ve heard mixed review on Season 4 so we’ll see how I feel…when I finally get to it.
  • Doctor Who, of course. Still underwhelmed by this season – not really loving Clara? She feels a little underdeveloped as a character. Hopefully that changes next season.

loving

  • watching my countdown to home tick down the days. I cannot wait to be back in the States, but leaving Malta is going to be bittersweet.
  • I’m getting really good at cooking without accurate measurements. And also, frying things (churros? funnel cake? check.) Life skills, yo.
  • sweet potatoes. like, I really really love sweet potatoes. someone explain to me how sweet potatoes aren’t actually candy.
  • late nights full of laughter. we have good times around the kitchen table.

Linking up with HopefulLeigh, of course! Now tell me – what have you been loving in this month of May?

6 thoughts on “[may 2013]

  1. I’ve been eyeing the Delirium series for a while (I have also enjoyed Divergent and The Hunger Games) — I’ll have to bite the bullet and finally buy them.

    Also, knowing how to fry things is totally an important life skill. 🙂

    1. Definitely go for Divergent! I was able to find the ebooks through my library, which was great because, well, free! And I now consider the ability to make churros from scratch one of my greatest accomplishments. It’ll come in useful some day.

    1. I’m only three episodes into Elementary but I’m totally hooked! Looking forward to getting caught up. And I’m behind on all of my tv as well…Bones, Psych, New Girl, Once Upon a Time…why does life get in the way of my tv watching??

  2. Animal Vegetable Miracle changed the way I eat and grocery shop. So much goodness there. I mostly liked the Delirium series but I hated how Oliver ended it. HATED IT. I think I’m just not a fan of her endings in general.

    Thanks for linking up with What I’m Into!

Leave a Reply

