[april 2013]

HopefulLeigh has been hosting these monthly What I’m Into link-ups for a while, and I’ve been reading (see: stalking) them for a little bit now and decided to finally get in on the action. Why? Well, why not? I’ve enjoyed getting to peek into other bloggers’ bookshelves/ipods/brains, plus I like the idea of taking some time at the end of each month to look back at what I’ve been loving and gather it all up into one place. Hey, I’m a hoarder. Better on the internet than my desk drawer, right?

So here we go…what I’m:

reading (on paper):

  • A Song of Ice and Fire (aka, the Game of Thrones series). My lil bro got me into this series and I’m hooked. I’m halfway through the fifth book, and then – gasp – I’ll have to wait for the next one to come out.
  • Finally got into the Eragon series (The Inheritance Cycle). Can I just say, I totally thought this series was a trilogy and was confused when the third book ended without coming to a conclusion? Turns out there’s four books. Surprise.
  • 99% of the time, I am not a devotional person. However, Cory Copeland’s We Are Not Hoodlums is changing that. I’ve been taking in an entry a day with my breakfast, and it is so good. We’re talking simple, straightforward truths that manage to rock my world. Sometimes you need to go back to the basics and remind yourself what redemption is.

reading (on screen):

listening:

  •  newly obsessed with Emeli Sandé. girl can sing.
  • also obsessed with “Cups (When I’m Gone)” aka That Song From Pitch Perfect That Everyone Is Obsessed With. Anna Kendrick’s acappella version is fantastic, but this director’s cut music video was recently released and now I can’t get enough of this version, either.
  • discovered Gregory Alan Isakov, and let’s just say “3 a.m.” has been on repeat for a while.
  • I’ve been listening to needtobreathe’s “The Heat” over and over again. this album is just too good, guys.
  • here’s this month’s Spotify playlist for your listening enjoyment. it’s a little random.

watching:

  • my TV-watching has been a little sporadic, and I’m behind on my usual shows: Once Upon a Time, Parks & Rec, and Bones all have some episodes sitting waiting for me. I’ll get around to it…eventually.
  • Doctor Who is back! I’ve managed to see three episodes so far. Honestly, I’m a little underwhelmed by this season’s DW. Here’s hoping I start to like it more.
  • been catching up on Psych. let’s talk about how I am Burton Guster. I even drive an Echo. Sadly, it’s not blue.

loving:

  • my Kindle, aka my baby. When I said reading, on paper? That’s a lie. It’s really all e-ink on my trusty little Kindle, which goes everywhere with me (including all over Europe) and miraculously hasn’t gotten broken yet.
  • my Chacos. guys. CHACOS ARE THE BEST. breaking these suckers in was possibly the most painful thing I’ve experienced, but it’s totally worth it. I’m gonna be rocking the best/worst z-tan by the time I get home.
  • getting out + about in Malta. I’m in class all day erry day, but there’s been some adventuring happening on the weekend. Jumping into the blue blue Mediterranean? Visiting the Malta at War museum? Loving the sunshine? check, check, and check.
  • friends, late nights, silly and serious conversation. countless cups of tea around the table. lazy mornings. s’mores.
  • was able to meet up with a good friend in Florence and spent four delightful days walking, seeing, eating, and just being with her. the food. oh, the food. Europe knows how to do pastries.
  • letters from home. with everyone thousands of miles away, getting a card that’s traversed the ocean can make me smile like nothing else.

 

remember what I said about pastries? (Budapest)

 

what have you been into this April?

 

4 thoughts on “[april 2013]

  1. I’ve been wanting to read the Game of Thrones series but thought I might wait until he writes the last book, especially since they’re worthy tomes. I started reading the Eragon series because the 11 yo I take care of asked me to but I’m not that big of a fan. I’ve had book 3 for months and haven’t started yet. I will eventually because of promises and all that.

    Thanks for linking to my post! Glad you decided to link up with What I’m Into! I always think it’s a fun post to write and I enjoy seeing what everyone else chooses to share.

Leave a Reply

