Africa or bust.

this summer, I’ll be spending a month in East Africa with Adventures in Missions on the World Race Exposure trip. through this brief series, I’ll be explaining the crazy circumstances that took me from being dead set against missions to ridiculously excited to go to Africa, over the course of one month. you can catch up with the previous part here.

Sometimes, I still can’t believe that this is really happening. That I am truly going to Africa this summer. Me. Me who has always said she doesn’t want to do missions, isn’t called to missions, has no desire to go to other countries and love on babies (seriously, though, ask any of my friends. They’ll tell you: it’s true).

And yet here I am. In one month, one short month, I went from a girl who swore she wasn’t called into missions work to being incredibly pumped about spending a month – a whole month! – in East Africa.

Guys, Jesus does crazy things. He turns water into wine, He raises people from the dead, He sends me to Africa and completely changes my perspective on missions.

Over the past month, the Lord has been sharing His heart for the nations with me. I’ve realized, if only a little bit, how much He loves the world, how much He loves every single person. Since this whole process started, I’ve already learned so much about His love, His goodness, His provision. I’m having to learn very quickly to surrender my plans and my will, to trust in His plans and His power. To set aside fear and worry, and to rest in His promises. If this is how much the Lord can change my heart while I’m in the midst of college homework, midterms, and distractions – I’m beyond excited to spend a month simply serving Him and pursuing Him.

The trip I’m going on is called Exposure: East Africa. During my time in Africa, I’ll be working with a World Race team and joining them in whatever ministry they’re doing. I don’t know where I’ll be going (most likely Kenya, Uganda, or Tanzania) or what I’ll be doing. I really don’t know what exactly I’m getting myself into, but I can’t wait to find out.

However, to make this all possible, I need some help.

First and foremost, I’m gonna need prayer. Lots of it. If you’ve got a heart for the world, care about me, want to see God’s name glorified in all the nations, or heck, even have some free time and don’t know what to do with it: please, please pray for me. This trip is going to be a crazy adventure and I’d love to know that you’ve all got my back and that I’m covered in prayer throughout the entire process leading up to, during, and after the trip.

Specifically, please be praying:

  • That I will continue to trust the Lord and not experience anxiety, fear, or stress about this trip.
  • That logistically, everything will work out: I’m going to be leaving for Africa very soon after I return from Malta. And by ‘very soon’, I  mean that it’s possible I’ll have only a few days at home, which means I’ll need to be dealing with paperwork, travel plans, and immunizations while studying abroad.
  • That I will be able to surrender myself to the Lord and let Him use me to be a light to the world, however He chooses to do so, and that He will use this time to draw me closer to Him and grow my faith.
  • For the World Race team I will be working with: for health, safe travel, strong relationships, and closeness with the Lord.
  • For anyone I will encounter while in Africa: for the Lord’s presence to be known, for healing, and for the relationships I will develop.
  • That the Lord will provide everything I need for this trip, because….

I need to raise $3, 995 to fund this trip. That’s a lot of money, but I trust that God will provide. The total amount isn’t due until two weeks before the trip, but I do have some deadlines to meet before then, one of which is next Thursday. I need to have a $100 deposit made by October 25 in order to secure my place on the trip.

Would you be willing to partner with me financially on this trip? Please prayerfully consider supporting me as I follow God’s call. By helping to fund my trip, you’re joining me in serving the people of East Africa, in being God’s hands and feet to the nations, in sharing His love and making His name known. Your prayers and any amount you are able and willing to donate, no matter how small, give you and I the opportunity to help bring God’s kingdom to earth.

If you’re feeling led to support me financially: it’s really easy!

  1. You can donate online by clicking here or going to the Adventures in Missions website (www.adventures.org), clicking the “Donate” tab, and selecting “Mission Trip Participant”. From there, select “The Passport” under Program Name and enter my full name (Hannah Boning) for Participant Name. (Note that when donating online, AIM is charged fees by the credit card and transaction processing companies. To cover these costs, 3% is removed from donations made by credit or debit card or 2% by bank draft (electronic check) before being credited to the participant or project.)
  2. You can donate by check. Please clearly indicate the purpose of the check (for Hannah Boning/The Passport). Mail checks to:

Adventures In Missions
P.O. Box 534470
Atlanta, GA 30353-4470

side note: Adventures In Missions, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and a long-time member of ECFA. Your donations are tax deductible (yay!) based on the policies and principles detailed at www.adventures.org/policies.

I’m unbelievably excited for this trip. I can’t wait to see how God is going to work through us in Africa. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to serve others, to be used by God to further His kingdom, to love people with God’s love. Mostly, I’m excited to experience God in a new way. I’m ready to get out of my comfort zone, to see His glory revealed, to learn more about His heart for His people. I have no clue what I’m going to be doing, who I’m going to be doing it with, or where I’m going to be doing it. But this I know: God will be there.

“Be still, and know that I am God.

I will be exalted among the nations,

I will be exalted in the earth!”

Psalm 46:10

One thought on “Africa or bust.

  1. So excited to read about your heart’s journey toward the nations! Being involved with missions in a totally foreign place is a huge eye-opener. I hope you’ll continue to share your experience – both leading up to and during/after Africa.

Leave a Reply

